The Game Awards 2022: Where and when to watch the Game Awards

The 2022 Game Awards are just around the corner, and we’re ready to settle down with a warm glass of Mountain Dew and put out milk and cookies for Santa Geoff as he gets ready to drop a bag of trailers down our chimneys. It may seem slim pickings for Nintendo this year, but the Switch isn’t doing too badly – ​​and Nintendo is still the second most nominated publisher, behind Sony Interactive Entertainment and tied with Annapurna Interactive.

But if you’re wondering how to watch The Game Awards, exactly when it is, or however long it lasts, we’ve got you covered.

When is The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards will take place on Thursday, December 8th (the 9th for everyone east of America), live from the Microsoft Theater in LA, at 5pm Pacific. There will be a 30-minute pre-show, where we expect some of the smaller prizes to be shuffled out the door.

Here are local times in several time zones:

North America (December 8)

5:00 PM PST
18.00 MST
7 p.m. CST
8:00 PM EST
21.00 AST

Europe (December 9)

01:00 GMT
02:00 CET
03:00 EET

Asia and Oceania (December 9)

06:30 AM IST
9 a.m. CST
09:00 AM ET
10:00am JST
12pm AEDT
2pm NZDT

Where can I watch The Game Awards 2022?

The Game Awards will be streamed on YouTube and Twitch, both of which can be used natively on Switch now, if you’d like. You can also watch live streams of the streams on the following websites:

This year, The Game Awards have opened up applications for people to co-stream the event on their Twitch channels as well. Keighley has confirmed that everything is already cleared for streaming!

The Game Awards will also be shown live in 40 IMAX theaters across North America – check here to find out if you have one near you.

How long will The Game Awards 2022 last?

We actually know the answer to this, for once… and the reason is a bit unusual!

Valve is giving away a Steam Deck for every minute of The Game Awards, and they’ve confirmed exactly how many minutes it will be. In the competition conditions, they state that the driving time is “approximately two and a half hours”. That’s 150 Steam Decks!

(Note: Contest is only running in the US, Canada, UK and EU, and only for people who have made at least one purchase in the last year on Steam.)

Which games have been nominated for The Game Awards 2022?

You can check out the list here for all the nominees.

But specifically for Switch and Nintendo, the following games are nominated:

  • Xenoblade Chronicles 3 (Game of the Year, Best Score/Music, Best RPG)
  • A Plague Tale: Requiem (Best Action/Adventure Game, Best Score/Music, Best Performance – Charlotte McBurney)
  • Citizen Sleeper (Games for Impact)
  • A Memoir Blue (Games for Impact)
  • Ending: Extinction is Forever (Games for Impact)
  • Hindsight (Games for Impact)
  • I Was A Teenage Exocolonist (Games for Impact)
  • Fortnite (Best Ongoing Game, Best Community Support)
  • Apex Legends (Best Ongoing Game, Best Community Support)
  • Tunic (Best Indie Game, Best Action/Adventure Game, Best Indie Debut)
  • Cult of the Lamb (Best Indie Game)
  • Neon White (Best Indie Game, Best Action Game, Best Indie Debut)
  • Sifu (Best Indie Game, Best Action, Best Fighting Game)
  • No Man’s Sky (Best Community Support)
  • Return to Monkey Island (innovation in accessibility)
  • Bayonetta 3 (Best Action Game)
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge (Best Action Game)
  • Live A Live (Best RPG)
  • Pokémon Legends: Arceus (Best RPG)
  • Triangle Strategy (Best RPG)
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: All-Star Battle R (Best Fighting Game)
  • Kirby and the Forgotten Land (Best Family Game)
  • LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga (Best Family Game)
  • Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope (Best Family Game, Best Sim/Strategy Game)
  • Nintendo Switch Sports (Best Family Game)
  • Splatoon 3 (Best Family Game)
  • OlliOlli World (Best Sports/Racing Game)
  • Two Point Campus (Best Sim/Strategy Game)
  • Rocket League (Best eSports Game)
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom (Most Anticipated Game)

What games will be shown or announced at The Game Awards 2022?

We have no idea! Unfortunately, Keighley has not responded some of our phone calls, probably because we don’t have his phone number anyway. But here’s what’s been confirmed so far:

Not much Switch or Nintendo news, that is. But that doesn’t mean there won’t be any…

…actually we all think about Geoff’s tweets about the Super Mario Bros. movie may be a clue 👀

Who is performing at The Game Awards 2022?

Hozier, baby. The smooth Irish musician will perform “Blood Upon The Snow” from God of War: Ragnarok.

How does voting work for The Game Awards?

You can vote for your favorites in each category! The final winners will be decided by a “mixed vote”: 90% will be decided by the jury, and 10% will be decided by public vote.

There is also a 100% elected vote, called Players’ Voice, which began on November 28th and ends on December 7th, with three rounds of voting. You can enter your vote here. Hey, Sonic Frontiers is here! And, uh, Minecraft!

Voting ends on Wednesday 7 December at 18.00 PT. You can check out the jury here – it’s largely made up of outlets like The Guardian, Eurogamer and so on, as well as independent but highly regarded names like Jeff Gerstmann. The Innovation in Accessibility award in particular is judged by accessibility advocates and experts.


Will you be watching The Game Awards? Which games do you want to win? Is it at a ridiculous time where you are? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *